Our People

The teaching faculty at NCAD includes many active researchers. For full details of research activity please click on the names below.

Professor Derek McGarry - Head of Innovation & Engagement

Dr. Siun Hanrahan - Head of Academic & Student Affairs

School of Design

Andrew Campbell - Lecturer in Textile Surface Design

Dr Emma Creighton - Assistant Lecturer in Design Interactions

Brendan Deacy - Illustration BA (Hons) programme leader

John Paul Dowling - Head of Department of Communication Design

Bob Gray - Lecturer in Visual Communication

Dr Marcus Hanratty - Coordinator Interaction Design, lecturer Product Design 

Fuchsia MacAree- Associate Lecturer in Communications / Illustration

Dr Caoimhe McMahon - Assistant Lecturer in Product Design

Enda O'Dowd - Lecturer & Course coordinator - MSc Medical Device Design

Angela O'Kelly - Head of Department of Design for Body and Environment (Fashion, Textile Surface Design, Jewellery & Metalwork)

Dr Katharina Pfützner - Lecturer in Product Design

Sam Russell - Head of Department of Product Design

Derek Vallence - Lecturer in Product Design - Medical Device Design


School of Education

Dr Patsey Bodkin - Lecturer in Education

Kenneth Donfield - Lecturer in Continuing Education in Art & Design

Nuala Hunt - Head of Department of Continuing Education, Joint Programme Coordinator Lecturer MA SEAFE

Professor Donal O'Donoghue - Head of School of Education

Aoife Keogh - Lecturer in Education

Fiona King - Coordinator of the Professional Master of Education (PME) in Art Education; Lecturer and Researcher in Art and Design Education

Michael Lyons -  Part-time Lecturer in Continuing Education in Art & Design

Brenda O’Reilly Hughes -  Part Time Lecturer in Art & Design Education

Fiona Whelan -  Lecturer and Joint Course Coordinator, MA Socially Engaged Art + Further Education


School of Fine Art

Michelle Browne

Diana Copperwaite

Dr Sarah Durcan

Feargal Fitzpatrick

Brian Hand

Leah Hilliard

Gareth Kennedy

Susan MacWilliam

Dr Caroline Madden

Dr Helen McAllister

Colin Martin

Professor Philip Napier

Margaret O'Brien

Dr Mick O'Kelly

Oliver Whelan

First Year

Yvonne Cullivan

Mary A Fitzgerald

Kristina Huxley

David Timmons - Assistant Lecturer, First Year

Aine Byrne

Niamh McCann

David Joyce

Orla Langan

Tara Whelan

Chloe Brenan

Laura Nifhlaibhin

Clare Jordan

Felicity Clear

Anthony O Connor

Bob Gray

Alan Dunne

Logan McLain

Marc Reilly

Sarah Ross


School of Visual Culture

Professor David Crowley

Dr Lisa Godson

Dr Francis Halsall

Denis Kehoe

Dr Silvia Loeffler

Dr Declan Long

Fiona Loughnane 

Dr Emma Mahony

Dr Anna Moran

Dr Rachel O'Dwyer

Hilary O'Kelly

Dr Jye O Sullivan

Dr Sarah Pierce